I had an ankle surgery yesterday to remove some cartilage that was loose in the joint. Everything went smoothly as far as I know and followup with the doctor is tomorrow morning. I’ve had a little time to contemplate some an illustration you may find useful in your walk with the Lord.

Illustration: If you had seen me walk around in the mountains of Mexico a couple of weeks ago or passed me in the streets of Athens, GA, you wouldn’t have thought, “Chet is having trouble walking – I feel sorry for him.” In fact, you wouldn’t have noticed anything unusual. However, I knew something was wrong and so did my doctor. I could feel the uncomfortableness of bone on bone, and my doctor warned that if I didn’t have the surgery then I would develop severe arthritis in that joint in short order.

Many times our “private” sins are just like that ankle problem. In the short term only two know what is really going on, you and God. Yet as time passes, if the problem is not dealt with then more and more people will be affected by our undealt with sin. We need to admit the problem and let Jesus do the surgery to remove it from our lives. I John 1:9 states, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

For your walk with the Lord, your fellowship with believers, and your love of your neighbor, don’t let “private” sin sabotage God’s work in and through you.

