(note – this is part 6 of 6…so you may want to catch up if you aren’t already)

“Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Lament and mourn and weep! Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up” (James 4:7-10).

The Apostle James gives us seven steps to peace with him and our neighbors.
  1. Submit to God (agree with Him that He is king and I am not)
  2. Resist the devil (I must put forth effort to say no to temptation – but note the promise – “he will flee from you.”
  3. Draw near to God (I must desire to be close to Him – He will rarely force Himself on us. note the promise – “He will draw near to you.” Every time!
  4. Cleanse your hands – stop doing what I know is wrong and try to make amends for the wrong things I have done wrong.
  5. Purify your hearts – check my motives
  6. Lament and mourn and weep – this is where we often stop short of true repentance, normally we stop ourselves and say, “oh I’m not really that bad; everybody has problems.” The consequence is to short circuit this necessary part of the process to becoming the person God wants you to be.
  7. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord – understand who I am before God, that He is God and I am not!

What we have here are practical things we can do to have peace with God, and by doing these we will live in such a way that we will have peace with others (as much as depends on us).

