Let these 3 short phrases from my friends in Mexico sink into your heads. You will need them if you are serious about following Jesus.

Be flexible – because you and I can be hard to work with. When Jesus says, “love your neighbor as yourself,” it implies that we will have to bend to the needs of others. We can’t say, “Lord I will love my neighbors as long as it fits into my grid, my schedule, and my plans.” We must flex, forgive, and continue to press for love and peace in Christ!

Be adaptable – because you and I do not know what tomorrow holds. We are terrible predictors of the future. History has surely taught us that we can be certain of the future being unpredictable and not much more.  We must adapt to a constantly changing world and culture while at the same time standing firm on our foundation – Jesus Himself!

Be consumablebecause God’s glory, God’s church (all followers of Jesus), and your local church are far more important than you or I are.  Do you believe that statement? If you are reading this and have been heavily influenced by the culture of the U.S.A, then you will have a hard time with this concept. We are constantly taught that “I” am most important and that if we all look out for “#1 – me” then everything will work out just fine. I believe most people in local churches in the United States have no concept of the whole being more important than the individual parts.

Are we listening to the words of Jesus? Are we answering His call, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will save it. For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost? For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words, of him the Son of Man will be ashamed when He comes in His own glory, and in His Father’s, and of the holy angels” (Luke 9:23-26).

