the flight home

I woke up wide awake at 3:50 AM, ten minutes before my alarm was scheduled to go off.  I had time for a quick shower and had to finish packing.  Pepe drove me to the bus station and at 5:15 AM I was headed to Mexico.  The first hour I was wishing I had taken some travel medicine…the mountain roads were making me woozy.  But once things straightened out, I was fine.  It was good to sleep a couple of hours before getting to the airport. 

At the airport I met the President of Tennessee Temple University and his wife.  Once they found out what I do they began recruiting me for their online Master’s degree program.  Over the last few years I have thought about doing something like this several times.  The biggest considerations for me are how Christ and Bible centered, cost, quality of program, and amount of on-campus time required.  I haven’t been able to find the right combination yet, but it is worth another look.  

I began reading Biblical Eldership by Alexander Strauch on the way home, and I am greatly encouraged by it. For anyone who is searching to know the Biblical perspective on church government, this is a very good read. It is both scholarly and practical in its approach.

Of course it was wonderful to see my wife at the airport.  She had gotten a new haircut, which I like.  We had a nice conversation over a meal on our way home.  I’m very thankful for such a supportive wife. Though she missed me, she is willing to see me go again as the Lord leads.  To wrap up the day, I was greeted by a very happy furry friend – Daphney.  She was way too excited.  It was a long day of travel, but I wasn’t nearly as tired as I expected to be.  The only thing I didn’t welcome when I returned was the Georgia heat.  I had been used to a high of 75 degrees F, and a low of about 55 degrees F.  It was perfect.  As soon as I stepped out of the Atlanta airport the high temperature and high humidity confronted me.  If I only could have brought the weather with me – because we could sure you some of the rain too!

This ends my travel log for the trip.  I want to again thank all of you who have been praying and keeping up.  Please keep checking back, and I am looking forward to continuing to write.  You can use an RSS feed to automatically be notified of new content.

